The Level Up! Blogfest

level-up-blogest-button

Jamie Gibbs at Mithril Wisdom and Allison at Geek Banter are hosting the Level Up! Blogfest.  The object of this blogfest is simple share your favourite game.

I have many favourite games as I tend to jump from game to game to game… of all varieties.

My first computer was an old BBC (with large floppies) which found me playing games like whodunit, frogger and Pacman and Asteroids.

I then migrated to my first PC computer which introduced me to an addictive galaxy found within the “Galaxy of Games” which can only be described as all the arcade games you would ever want to play on one CD Rom (of course they did end up bringing out endless editions so it was no longer really all on the one CD).

More recently I ended up on World of Warcraft – which resulted in me giving up computer games altogether due to the incredible time drain that I found myself it. When I finally graduated and began working a 12 hour day (not including commute) it was no longer practical.

These days I stick to the good old-fashioned board games (and Fruit Ninja on the iPhone). I am slowly building up my old collection from childhood favourites. So far my collection has included Monopoly (the new Monopoly City), Scrabble, Cluedo Super Sleuth, Boggle, and regular Chess.

pic87002_md

But honestly I think my all time fave is Cluedo Super Sleuth  – there is something fantastic about building your own board game as you play. For those of you who have not played this game you build it as you play with tiles rather than having a set board so the games changes slightly every time you play. Not to mention there as great character pieces.

9 thoughts on “The Level Up! Blogfest

  1. Building the game as you go? That sounds like fun! Thanks for joining in the blogfest!

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever won a game of Cluedo! It’s a shameful thing to admit.

    I remember those old BBC floppy games – we used to play a game called “pob” that was a red blob that had text above it saying “pob can” and you had to type what pob could do. As a bunch of 10 year olds, we put in almost every rude word we could think of at the time 🙂

    Thanks for taking part in the blogfest!

    Jamie @ Mithril Wisdom

  3. Just dropping in from the Level Up Blogfest. I can relate to having games no longer be feasible. Uni prevented me from getting into a lot of games. And now there about 2-4 sequels for game universes that leave me boggled. :3

  4. Cluedo Super Sleuth does sound like a fun game, especially because of the fact that it would be a different game every time you play.

    I remember playing Asteroids whenever I would go to the mall arcade as a kid. Fun game and one of the few where I felt like I could get my quarter’s worth by making it last.

  5. I used to love playing Frogger, sometimes the simple games are the best ones.

  6. I haven’t played a lot of these. 😦 I’ll have to check them out. 🙂

  7. chess, classic!
    and cluedo sounds awesome! i will have to try!

  8. I used to play Frogger and Asteroids back in the day. My frogs got flattened quite a bit. Haha. Good times.

  9. I hadn’t heard of Cluedo Super Sleuth before – but the idea is absolutely brilliant. I’ll definitely be checking it out.

Leave a Reply

